About Us

laos-companyWe’re a musical theatre society who perform one musical and one pantomime each year. Our objective is to encourage the study, performance and appreciation of music and drama. Also to entertain the local community!

It’s our 95th anniversary this year!  Larbert Amateur Operatic Society was formed in 1922 with its first musical production being HMS Pinafore in 1923. Our first pantomime was Cinderella in 1978.


We’re affiliated to the National Operatic & Dramatic Association whose Patrons are The Lord Lloyd Webber and Connie Fisher.

What do we do?


Every year in early May we put on a musical production at the Dobbie Hall in Larbert. We’ve brought all different types of musicals and operettas to the Larbert stage from Gilbert and Sullivan’s productions such as The Mikado and Pirates of Penzance to modern musicals such as Sunshine on Leith and The Addams Family.

See all the musicals we’ve performed since 1923.

In 2018 we are putting on Sweet Charity, the hit 60s musicals with songs including Big Spender and the Rhythm of Life.


At the end of November we put on our traditional family pantomime. We’ve covered all the fairy tales throughout the last 40 years and have entertained generations of families in the Falkirk area.

Find out more about our pantos.

Our structure

Larbert Amateur Operatic Society is a registered charity. We’re an amateur club run by our members for the good of our members and it’s the commitment of everyone in the cast, crew and company that allows us to put on shows and pantos every year for our audiences.

The executive committee is made up of the President, Honourable Secretary and Treasurer. These positions are elected each year at our AGM. There are then nine members of committee, who each serve two years.

Officials 2019 – 2020
Hon. President: Mr G Forbes
Hon.Vice Presidents: Mrs I McGregor, Mrs P Paterson, Miss M Cameron, Mr I Gardner, Mr D Steedman
President: Jeanna Connell
Vice-President: John Coe
Hon. Secretary: Lorraine Beggs
Treasurer: Dale Henry
Members of Committee: Janette Leask, Elaine Campbell-Swan, Lucy Andrew, Stewart Borthwick, Christopher Duncan, Jillian Govan, Jennifer Brisbane, Greer Robertson
Box Office Convener: Shelley McLaren


We have a dedicated page for policies & procedures which help us govern and run our society.

Click here for our Policies page

Our production team

We’ve been lucky to have our production team with us for many years. Derek and Yolande both started out as company members before stepping up into directing and choreographing. Jan came along 20 years ago to help out one night and has never left!

Director: Derek D Easton
Musical Director: Jan Cunningham
Choreographer: Yolande Borthwick